India States and Capitals PDF Download

India states and capitals PDF Download: Are you looking for Indian states and capitals PDF? Then you are in the right place to be.

We are here going to give you the complete states and capitals of India 2020 pdf. That too in best quality. The map includes every union territory of India with its correct Mappings.

Status About India:

World Ranking of India: 7th largest

Ranking Population wise: 2nd largest.

Location: Southern Asia

Official Name: Republic of India.

Form of Government: Parliamentary.

Here in this article, we going to give you the complete state With their capital details.

Do you know how Many states are there in 2021?

Number of States: 28

Union Territories: 08

Each state has its Judiciary, Administrative, and functionaries with Capitals.

The head of the state is called as Chief Minister.

Here you can get India Map With States Capitals PDF.

Complete List of States and Capitals of India:

In almost every exam there is one question is being asked about the states and capitals of India.

Here is a complete list of 28 states and 8 Union territories.

At present 28 states with 8 union territories are there.

S.NoStates NameCapitalFounded on
1Andhra PradeshHyderabad (Proposed Capital Amaravati)1 Nov. 1956
2Arunachal PradeshItanagar20 Feb. 1987
3AssamDispur26 Jan. 1950
4BiharPatna26 Jan. 1950
5ChhattisgarhRaipur1 Nov. 2000
6GoaPanaji30 May. 1987
7GujaratGandhinagar1 May. 1960
8HaryanaChandigarh1 Nov. 1966
9Himachal PradeshShimla25 Jan. 1971
10JharkhandRanchi15 Nov. 2000
11KarnatakaBengaluru (formerly Bangalore)1 Nov. 1956
12KeralaThiruvananthapuram1 Nov. 1956
13Madhya PradeshBhopal1 Nov. 1956
14MaharashtraMumbai1 May. 1960
15ManipurImphal21 Jan. 1972
16MeghalayaShillong21 Jan. 1972
17MizoramAizawl20 Feb. 1987
18NagalandKohima1 Dec. 1963
19OdishaBhubaneswar26 Jan. 1950
20PunjabChandigarh1 Nov. 1956
21RajasthanJaipur1 Nov. 1956
22SikkimGangtok16 May. 1975
23Tamil NaduChennai26 Jan. 1950
24TelanganaHyderabad2 Jun. 2014
25TripuraAgartala21 Jan. 1972
26Uttar PradeshLucknow26 Jan. 1950
27UttarakhandDehradun (Winter)
Gairsain (Summer)
9 Nov. 2000
28West BengalKolkata1 Nov. 1956

Because recently The state of Jammu and Kashmir has been converted into Union territories.

Union Territories NamesCapitalFounded on
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair1 Nov. 1956
ChandigarhChandigarh1 Nov. 1966
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman26 Jan. 2020
DelhiNew Delhi9 May. 1905
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
31 Oct 2019
LakshadweepKavaratti1 Nov. 1956
PuducherryPondicherry1 Nov. 1954
LadakhLeh31 Oct 2019

Here is How India map Look like:

India states and capitals PDF Download
Credit source:

Below Are PDFs For Your Download:

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Q1: How many states and capitals are there in India?

28 States and 8 Union territories.

Q2: What is the capital of all India?

New Delhi

Q3: Which Union territories was merged in January 2020?

States of Jammu and Kashmir

Similar post You May Like:

AIR 1 Pradeep Singh’s Notes UPSC PDF Free Download
UPSC GS Test Paper-Pdf Download (Part 2)
Important Note:
We are not the owner of the book nor we publish it in any way. We are sharing the links which are available on the internet. If you found it to be violating any of your copyright rights then email us at
We will revert you ASAP and take down the book. Thanks for cooperating.
Previous articleEco-friendly Flower Decoration Ideas: Pdf Download
Next articleChanakya Neeti PDF Download For Free


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here